Docs » Administer Your Organization » Manage users and teams

Manage users and teams 🔗

Note

To manage users and teams, you must have administrator privileges. For more information, see Working with Teams.

Add, remove, and set privileges for users 🔗

To start, open the Settings menu from the navigation bar and select Members.

Add users to an organization 🔗

To add users to an organization, click Invite Members.

../_images/invite-members.png

Alternatively, if you are not already on the Members page for your organization, open the Settings menu, and select Invite Members.

Enter the users’ email addresses that you wish to invite to your organization (one per line or comma-separated). If there is no existing Splunk Infrastructure Monitoring account belonging to that email address, the application prompts the user to create one. The user appears in the list after signing up.

../_images/list-members.png

Remove users from an organization 🔗

To remove a user:

  1. Select the Actions (…) menu next to the name of the user.
  2. Select Remove Member.

You can also highlight a member’s name in the sidebar and select Remove Member from the organization’s Actions menu.

Grant and revoke a user’s administrator privileges 🔗

To grant administrator privileges to a user:

  1. Select the Actions (…) menu next to the name of the user.
  2. Select Grant Admin.

To revoke administrator privileges from a user, select Revoke Admin.

You can also highlight a member’s name in the sidebar and then select Grant Admin or Revoke Admin from the organization’s Actions menu.

Create and manage teams 🔗

For an overview of the use of teams in Infrastructure Monitoring, see Working with Teams.

To create a team:

  1. Open the Settings menu from the navigation bar.
  2. Hover over Organization Settings.
  3. Select Teams.

To add a team:

  1. Click Create New Team. The Create New Team modal appears.
  2. Enter a name for the team.
  3. Click Add next to each user you want to be a member of the team. Scroll through the list or use the search box to narrow down the list. To delete a member you have added, click Remove.
  4. Click Done.

A row for the new team appears. If you added yourself to the team, the Member label appears next to the number of team members.

To delete a team:

  1. Open the Settings menu from the navigation bar.
  2. Hover over Organization Settings.
  3. Select Teams.
  4. From the team’s Actions (…) menu, select Delete Team.
  5. Confirm the deletion.

Manage team name and team members 🔗

There are a few ways to display the team name and member list for editing.

Using the Manage Members option 🔗

  1. From a team’s landing page:
  • Click the number of members to see who is on the team.
  • Or, from the Teams page, click the number of members to see who is on any team.
  1. Click Manage Members to change the team’s name and add or remove members.

Using the Edit option 🔗

  1. Open the Settings menu from the navigation bar.
  2. Hover over Organization Settings.
  3. Select Teams.
  4. From a team’s Actions (…) menu, select Edit Team.

Edit the descriptive text on a landing page 🔗

Non-admin team members can also edit descriptive text. For more information, see Editing the descriptive text on a landing page.

Edit team notification policies 🔗

Non-admin team members can also edit notification policies. For more information, see Specify Team Notification Policies.

Note

If your account is set up to use Infrastructure Monitoring (DPM) pricing, you can use tokens to manage DPM associated with a team.