Docs » Dashboards » Creating, Sharing, and Protecting Dashboards

Creating, Sharing, and Protecting Dashboards


Need some context? Dashboard Basics


Creating a new dashboard

There are a number of options for creating a dashboard.

  • SignalFx makes it easy for you to quickly add simple charts to a new dashboard, and then share a copy of that dashboard with others. For more information, see Create Simple Charts and Dashboards.
  • To create a new dashboard from scratch, select Dashboard from the Create menu (plus sign) on the navigation bar.

Notes

  • If you see Dashboard (unsaved), you have already added charts to a new dashboard and haven’t saved the dashboard yet. Clicking this option opens the unsaved dashboard. You can only have one unsaved dashboard at a time.
  • If you see Dashboard with <n> copied charts, you have copied some charts from one or more dashboards and haven’t yet added any charts to a new (unsaved) dashboard. Clicking this option creates a new dashboard and pastes the copied charts into it.
  • In the Chart Builder, when saving a new chart or using Save as to save a copy of an existing chart, you can create a new dashboard on which to place the chart.

Copying (cloning) a dashboard

There are various reasons you might want to copy a dashboard.

  • To make changes to a built-in dashboard, which is read‑only, or to a dashboard for which you don’t have write permission, you must first make a copy of it.
  • If you see a user or custom dashboard that you want to modify without making changes to the original, you can make a copy of it.

To copy a dashboard, open the dashboard and then select Save as from the dashboard’s Actions menu.

You’ll be asked to specify a dashboard name and the dashboard group in which to save the new dashboard.

  • Consider renaming the dashboard, to avoid multiple dashboards with the same name.
  • You can save the dashboard to an existing custom or user dashboard group, or you can create a new dashboard group. If you create a new group, the group is added as a Custom Dashboard group.

Creating a dashboard group

You can create a custom dashboard group so other people in your organization have easy access to the dashboards in the group. You can create a dashboard group when you are saving a dashboard, or you can create a group from scratch.

To create a dashboard group from scratch, select Dashboard Group from the Create menu (plus sign) on the navigation bar. Enter a name and (optionally) a description of the group, set write permissions if needed, then click Create.

You’ll land on a dashboard with the same name as the group. You can rename the dashboard from the dashboard’s Actions menu, or just begin adding charts to the group. For more information on creating charts, see Create Simple Charts and Dashboards and Planning and Creating Charts.

Modifying built-in dashboards and their charts

There are various reasons you might want to modify built-in dashboards and charts.

  • You might want to change the filter or time range on a built-in dashboard as you would with any dashboard.
  • Similarly, you might want to make changes to a chart on a built-in dashboard as you would with a chart on any other dashboard.

Because built-in dashboards are read‑only, you cannot directly save filters or time ranges to the charts on a dashboard. To do that, you must use Save as to save a copy of the dashboard. Once you are working with a copy of the dashboard, you can make any modifications you wish.

Alternatively, if you only want to modify a single chart in the dashboard, click the name of a chart on a built-in dashboard to open it in the Chart Builder view. From there, you can make any changes you like. When you are finished, click Save As at the upper right to save the chart, including any changes you’ve made, to a dashboard of your choice. If you don’t want to save your changes, click Close.

../_images/chart-save-chart.png

Sharing a dashboard

You can share a dashboard with others in a few ways, including linking to a copy of the dashboard and linking to the actual dashboard. For more information, see Sharing a dashboard.

Changing a dashboard’s name or description

To rename a dashboard or change the dashboard’s description, select Rename on the dashboard’s Actions menu to display the Dashboard Info tab. Make any desired changes, then click Save and close.

Protecting a dashboard with a read-only setting (DEPRECATED)


About this feature

This feature has been deprecated and will no longer be available after January 1, 2019. It has been superseded by the permissions feature, available in the SignalFx Enterprise Edition.


To prevent anyone (including yourself!) from inadvertently making changes to a dashboard, you can make a dashboard read‑only. This setting is intended to be a “speed bump” that helps prevent accidental changes, not a “stop sign” that disables all changes.

Anyone can remove the read‑only setting from a dashboard. That is, if you set a dashboard to read‑only, someone else in your organization can remove the read‑only setting. Making a dashboard read‑only simply makes it a little more difficult for someone else to modify; it does not actually lock a dashboard and prevent all changes.

About the read-only setting

When a dashboard is read‑only, the following conditions are in effect.

  • Users can change the settings on the dashboard. This lets anyone modify the view of the charts on the dashboard without changing its contents. These changes are not saved when the dashboard is closed.
  • Users cannot move or resize the charts on the dashboard.
  • Users cannot save the dashboard. Instead, they can use Save as to save a copy of the dashboard, which they can then modify as they like. The copy is not linked to the original dashboard.
  • Users can open and edit charts on the dashboard, but cannot save them. Instead, as with the dashboard itself, they can use Save as to save a copy of a chart to a different dashboard. The copy is not linked to the original chart or dashboard.
  • Users cannot edit dashboard variables or suggested overlay events for the dashboard.

Setting a dashboard’s read-only setting

To make a dashboard read‑only, select Make Read Only from the dashboard’s Actions menu. The setting goes into effect immediately (you don’t have to save the dashboard).

A “read-only” token is displayed to the right of the dashboard’s name and the Delete option is not available on the Actions menu.

Removing a dashboard’s read-only setting

To remove the read‑only setting from a dashboard, select Allow Edits from the Actions menu. The setting goes into effect immediately (you don’t have to save the dashboard).