Docs » Dashboards in Splunk Observability Cloud » Specify who can see and edit your dashboard groups and dashboards

Specify who can see and edit your dashboard groups and dashboards πŸ”—


Available in Enterprise Edition

To help you manage read and write permissions, Observability Cloud lets you view grant and revoke permissions.

To learn more about permissions, see Read and write permissions in Splunk Infrastructure Monitoring.

If you want to get read or write permission for a dashboard group or dashboard, or if you want to modify permissions, first determine who already has permissions by displaying the Permissions list. You can then ask a user who has permission to add you to the permissions list.

Display a dashboard group or dashboard permissions list πŸ”—

The following procedures describe how to display permissions for dashboard groups and dashboards.

Display a dashboard group permissions list πŸ”—

To display the permissions list for a dashboard group, follow these steps:

  1. Display the dashboard group.

  2. Click the Actions menu icon, then select Permissions.

Display a dashboard permissions list πŸ”—

To display the permissions list for a dashboard, follow these steps:

  1. Display the dashboard.

  2. Click the Actions menu icon, then select Permissions.

Grant and revoke permissions for dashboard groups and dashboards πŸ”—

After you display a permissions list for a dashboard group or dashboard, you can change read or write permissions for users or teams. To change permissions for a dashboard group or dashboard, you need write permission for the item.

To change permissions for a dashboard group or dashboard, follow these steps:

  1. Display the permissions for the item by clicking the Actions menu and selecting Permissions.

  2. Select one of the following options from the drop-down menu:

Option

Description

Inherit from Dashboard Group (only available for dashboards)

Default setting for a new dashboard. Permissions for this dashboard are inherited from the dashboard group you save it to.

Everyone can Read or Write

Default setting for a new dashboard groups. This option allows everyone in your organization to see and edit the item.

Restricted Write Access

Everyone in your organization can view the item. Specific users or teams can be added to edit the item.

Restricted Read and Write access

Only the creator of the item has read and write permissions by default. Specific users or teams can be added to view and/or edit the item.

  1. If you select Restricted Write Access or Restricted Read and Write access, click the > next to the drop-down menu to see the list of teams and users in the permission settings. Click Add Team or User, then select the users or teams for whom you want to grant read or write permissions.

  2. To remove a user or team, click the x next to the user or team name.

  3. Click Save

Dashboard group actions that require write permission πŸ”—

The following table describes dashboard group actions that require write permissions.

Action

Requires write permission

Add dashboards or mirrors to a group

x

Rearrange the order of dashboard tabs in the group

x

Rename or delete the group

x

Manage links to teams

Required for linking custom dashboard groups; not required for linking built-in dashboard groups.

For a non-mirrored dashboard, change overrides and save back to the group *

For a mirror, change the overrides for a mirror and save it back to the group

x

Make any other changes to a dashboard or mirror in the group, such as moving, resizing, or editing its charts *

Remove a mirror from the group

x

Delete a dashboard *.

Required for both the dashboard and the dashboard group it belongs to.

* You must have write permission for the dashboard or mirror.

Dashboard and mirror actions that require write permission πŸ”—

The following table describes dashboard and mirror actions that require write permissions.

Action

Requires write permission

Add or delete charts

x

Edit and save any chart

x

Paste charts

x

Resize and rearrange charts

x

Rename the dashboard

x

Delete the dashboard. You can only delete a dashboard if it has no mirrors.

x

Share the dashboard

Share or copy charts that are on the dashboard

Create a mirror

Remove a mirror

You don’t need write permission for the dashboard itself, but you do need write permission for the dashboard group that contains the dashboard.

Save changes to the filter and dashboard variable options in the dashboard Overrides bar

For a non-mirrored dashboard, you need write permission for the dashboard. For a mirrored dashboard, you need write permissions for the dashboard group.

To learn more about write permission differences between dashboards and mirrors, see Dashboard mirrors and permissions.