Docs » Managing SignalFx » Setting Write Permissions

Setting Write Permissions 🔗


Available in SignalFx Enterprise Edition


Permissions overview 🔗

By default, except for built-in dashboards, anyone can edit any dashboard group, dashboard, or detector. To prevent someone from inadvertently making changes to an item, users can specify write permissions for it. Some common uses for setting permissions are:

  • a user limiting permissions on dashboards in their user dashboard group.
  • a team member specifying that only other team members can edit the item
  • an administrator specifying that only specific users can edit items that are monitoring critical or sensitive information

Permissions are implemented in SignalFx as follows.

  • Permissions can be set for dashboard groups, dashboards, and detectors.
  • If an item has no permissions specifically set, everyone has write permission for the item.
  • Permissions can be granted to individual users or teams.
  • Anyone who has write permission for an item can grant or remove any permissions on the item.
  • SignalFx administrators can grant and remove permissions for any item.

Important

Permissions help prevent accidental changes, but do not disable all paths to making a change. If a team has write permission for an item, any user can join that team and thus gain write access to that particular item. An admin can add themselves to the permissions list for an item to gain edit access to it. A user with write permissions to an item can add or remove others from the permissions for that item.

Setting permissions for an item 🔗

If a dashboard group, dashboard, or detector has no permissions already set, or if you already have permissions for the item, you can add or remove permissions on it. (By default, a new dashboard group, dashboard, or detector has no permissions already set. You can set permissions before or after you save it, as described in the following sections.)

To request permission for an item, determine who already has permissions by displaying the Permissions list as described below. You can then ask someone who has permission to add you to the permissions list.

Displaying the permissions list 🔗

Dashboard group 🔗

To display the permissions list for a dashboard group, open a dashboard in the group and then select Permissions from the dashboard group’s Actions menu.

../_images/dashboard-group-actions-menu.png

Dashboard 🔗

To display the permissions list for a dashboard, open the dashboard and then select Permissions from the dashboard’s Actions menu.

Detector 🔗

To display the permissions list for a detector, you can do one of the following:

  • Open the detector and select Permissions from the detector’s Actions menu.
  • Open the Detectors tab on the Alerts page and then select Permissions from the detector’s Actions menu.

Adding and removing permissions 🔗

When you have displayed the permissions list, you can begin adding or removing users or teams that have write permissions for the item. (You can add or remove permissions for an item only if you have write permission for the item.)

The following illustrations show the process for setting permissions for a dashboard; the technique for adding or removing permissions is identical for detectors. If you are setting permissions for a dashboard group, you can also specify permissions for individual dashboards in the group.

../_images/perm-default.png

To begin setting write permissions, uncheck Anyone in this organization can edit. You will then be added as the only person who can edit the item.

../_images/perm-your-email.png

Click Add user or team and select the users and/or teams who should have write permissions for the item.

To remove permissions, simply click on the x to the right of the user or team name.

When you are finished, click Save.

Important

It is possible for you to remove your own write permission from an item. If you do this (accidentally or deliberately) and you are not a SignalFx administrator, someone else with write permission has to grant you write permission again.

Actions controlled by permissions 🔗

The following tables detail the available actions based on whether you have permissions for an item or not.

Dashboard group permission summary 🔗

Activity Requires write permission for the dashboard group
Add dashboards or mirrors to the group x
Rearrange the order of dashboard tabs in the group x
Rename or delete the group x
Manage links to teams Required for linking custom dashboard groups; not required for linking built-in dashboard groups.
For a non-mirrored dashboard, change the overrides and save it back to the group *  
For a mirror, change the overrides for a mirror and save it back to the group x
Make any other changes to a dashboard or mirror in the group, such as moving, resizing, or editing its charts *  
Remove a mirror from the group x
Delete a dashboard *  

* You must have write permission for the dashboard or mirror.

Dashboard and mirror permission summary 🔗

Activity Requires write permission for the dashboard or mirror
Add or delete charts x
Edit and save any chart x
Paste charts x
Resize and rearrange charts x
Rename the dashboard x
Delete the dashboard (only possible if the dashboard has no mirrors) x
Share the dashboard  
Share or copy charts that are on the dashboard  
Create a mirror  
Remove a mirror You don’t need dashboard permission, but you do need permission for the dashboard group.
Save changes to the filter and dashboard variable options in the Overrides bar For a non-mirrored dashboard, you need permissions for the dashboard. For a mirrored dashboard, you need permissions for the dashboard group.

For more detailed information on permission differences between dashboards and mirrors, see Dashboard mirrors and write permissions.

Detector permission summary 🔗

Activity Requires write permission for the detector
Edit or delete the detector x
Subscribe to or manage subscriptions for the detector x
Add or remove links between the detector and a team x
Manage the detector’s muting rules